As nice as it is to have more freedom in a schedule with driving to work, I do enjoy the bus ride. I had to drive today to meet with people around town, which made me appreciate the bus. The best part is relaxing on the way to work and getting ready for the day. The worse part is being a slave to the schedule, which I would guess farmers or bakers helped develop the schedule.
Apparently the rush hour buses need to get the bakers and the farmers to their jobs early to start their day. I don't who all those other people are on the bus, but my guess is they are not all bakers and farmers. So, why do we have a rush hour bus that only runs from 6:05 am to 7:30 am. Is there no one else up at night writing a blog about things they like to eat and other common complaints and need to get sleep hours by sleeping past 6:30. I can not be alone, my friends. Rise up (or sleep in as it were)! Well, they have got us. Who is the going to be the last person in the office besides the guys that drive? No one. The bus riding zombies march to their bus stops and take it to their non-farming and non-baking jobs and just suck it up. I am not asking for special favors really, I just have a hard time believing this is a schedule that we all wanted. However, this is the the land of 10,000 lowered expectations, where we just except the fact "I don't want to make a scene".
Or should I propose the conspiracy theory is that this schedule was really started by bakers after all. Think about it. You are groggy in the morning. You barely get ready in time to catch your bus, with no real time to get breakfast. So when you land on your bus and get to work before the sunrises, you finally wake up and want something to eat. What do you do - you stop by your local bakery to get something to it. See, they have lulled you into buying their products through a vast wheat promoting conspiracy to keep the long fallen flour milling industry alive through early morning bus routes. The only hole in this theory is that it makes no sense and is not realistic. Besides those details, it is a great theory.
Since I was driving today, I need to support the baking industry and made some toast and enjoy some the leftover smoked salmon. I packed a yummy lunch consisting of frozen Amy's veggie lasagna, some veggies and dried fruit. Sexy, huh? I have to say, my friends, it was good. I am trying very unsuccessfully to lose weight. I have 35 pounds to go to my goal date of July 22nd.
To help in that matter I went to dinner with Kathy and a dear friend that was in town for business. We ended up at Crave. They have a new location in St Louis Park, MN at the new development called West End. We made reservation through OpenTable.com and we were able to get a seat right away. The place was jumping as happy hour was ending, but the dining room was pretty full as well. We sat down and the server was immediate available to help us with our order. We tried a couple appetizers, the first was the calamari served with a spicy mayo. It was cooked nearly perfect. The other appetizer was a baked crab and artichoke dip, served with focaccia bread. We did not leave any of these behind by the time the main dishes arrived. We struggled with the many choices, but our friend was determined to order the Sea scallop & shrimp fettucini dish. It was served with a lobster sauce. She enjoyed the dish, though it looked like the pasta was bit overcooked, but I can't say for sure as she was not sharing! I tried the grilled ahi tuna. The veggies and the rice were excellent, the tuna was very good, it had a excellent sesame crust. I tasted a bit of some sort of cooking fuel or something on the tuna, very subtle, but I thought I would mention it. My bride enjoyed the starter salad, though I think we agreed the have some great selections we would try again when we come back. We skipped the dessert as the meals were quite filling enough.
Time to plow through the email I guess.
Music provided for the writings by XTC.