Sunday, January 03, 2010

It rains in Seattle

Last night I had this funny thought that went through my head as I was pulling out the parka to head up to a dinner party at a friends house. I was considering what to bring along in case something happens and we are stranded outside for some reason. The reason for the concern is that the outside temperature was -13 degrees below zero Fahrenheit, wind chills much lower (but who really cares about windchill) and I thunk to myself this thought - "Really, really? What are we doing?"

People have an affinity to where they live. Yes, we have exceptions to the lonely person that was sent to another town for a job and they can't stand it. Minnesota has lots of upside, granted, but having to consider the impacts of traveling to a friends house is taking your life in your hands seems to have it limits for me. I get picky that way. My wonderful bride have had this continued thought recently, mostly around why don't we move to a warmer more progressive area. We have visited Seattle a few times and enjoyed the area and we when we mention it to friend here, they always say - "You know how much rain they get in Seattle?"

That's what made me laugh last night as I bundled up. It's flippin Jan 3rd and we have a long way to go before this nightly frozen piece of hell is done.

Anyway, we went to dinner and they had takeout from Q-fanatic. Neat little place and I had been hearing quite a few good things about it. We order a combo with a few sides added and they did not disappoint. The pulled pork and chicken was moist and full of flavor, the ribs melt off the bone tender, the brisket was excellent. It was great sign that I did not need to put on any sauces for taste, the meats were excellent by themselves. I liked the sauces too.

Enjoyed the leftovers for lunch today!

No comments: